SOCIAL MEDIA

[Review] The Queen's Wing

Monday, February 25, 2019




Title: The Queen's Wing
Series: The Queen's Wing #1
Author: Jessica Thorne
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Published: November 21, 2018
Source: Copy provided by NetGalley

Quicklinks: Amazon | Goodreads



{SUMMARY}

'I was born to fight,’ I used to say. But now I know it isn’t true. I was born to be a pawn in the great game of royal houses, married to someone – anyone – my family deems suitable… 

Bel would do anything to spend her days alongside her best friend and childhood sweetheart Shae – training in the art of Vairian combat, hoping to some day live up to the legacy left by the mother she lost as a child. 

But when a mysterious and deadly attack on the capital lands Bel’s father unexpectedly on the throne, her life is forever changed. In order to secure her father’s new empire, Bel is forced to travel to the distant land of Anthaeus to marry its recently widowed ruler, Conleith. 

For any other young woman the chance to become royalty would be a dream come true, but for Bel, the rigidity of court life is like a prison sentence. And while Conleith is an unexpectedly intriguing – and attractive – puzzle… could she ever love him when it would mean turning her back on her feelings for Shae, her first love and last connection to home? 

Then a brutal assassination attempt nearly takes her life, and Bel learns that there’s more on the line than just her happiness. Is it the same faceless enemy who attacked her homeland and, with dangers around every corner, who in the palace can she trust? 

A heart-stoppingly magical new novel that will keep you turning the pages. Perfect for fans of The Selection, Bella Forrest and Sarah J. Maas. 

Those of you who have been following my reviews know that I'm a sucker for strong female characters and it's always refreshing to be able to find books that have such a character in the genre that I read. 

Bel is the strong female character, born of a people that I imagined to resemble that of the Amazons. Through the trials she went through and the losses, she was able to focus on the important matter at hand in the time of war instead of collapsing into a heaping pile of tears and whining. I loved her character, she was indeed a queen. 

Conleith is a good character, as well, but I didn't read enough to gather much about him except for what the summary of this book tells. 

The world was intriguing and I wish there was more time spent on detailing the world a bit more. The overall plot was extremely well done. It was engaging enough despite the steady, almost borderline slow build up, but ended with a series of actions and consequences to make you want to read the next book immediately after. I'm really looking forward to it! 

Post a Comment

Instagram